Lauren's Ring of Fire

you have just fallen in......................

older
� �� new
e-mail
��� profile
gbook
������ host ���design
Steve Is the Devil
e.ScIEntoLOgY
Gay or Nay?

&prev��� &next

Farewell - November 16, 2005

Laguna Beach - November 14, 2005

Karma is a Bitch, Beeootch!! - August 30, 2005

Tribute - August 08, 2005

Buying in Bulk - April 14, 2005

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

The Official Mood of Ringoffire is: The current mood of ringoffire at www.imood.com
2002-01-25~~12:47 p.m.
A Slippery Eeeeeel

Okay. No more war movies for me for awhile. I am putting a moratorium on them for the duration of Omar's activation in the Marine Corps. Just until he comes back in a year. I'll keep a list of the ones I need to see and then rent them someday.

I saw "Black Hawk Down" last night with my dad. Planning our "date" and buying tickets was angst-ridden and filled with wrought. He and I both were anxious about seeing a movie touted as being "two hours of the first 15 minutes of 'Saving Private Ryan'" and we even considered chickening out and seeing Harry Potter instead. (just kidding. I don't think I could pay my dad enough to see that one)

I was just nervous because here was this movie about a DOOMED MISSION. There is nothing inherently good about something like that, even if Josh Hartnett came out alive, thank the Good Lord Above. So walking to our seats was like that time I had to give an oral argument in mock court for Legal Writing or for any violin recital I ever had: nerve-racking and urine-inducing.

But after all the hand-wringing, we were glad to have seen it. It was good and important and informative and of course, there was the Josh Hartnett factor. I didn't even cry until the end when they read a letter from a soldier who died and played bagpipe music (always good for a few tears) and rolled the names of the 19 soldiers who died that day.

But still, all those guys were just so young and it was so recent, in terms of wars, and with Omar getting activated in a WEEK, I am just a little edgy about all that.

So, dear friends, do not invite me to the Mel Gibson movie "We Were Soldiers" please. I will politely decline. But we can set a date to rent it in about a year and a half. Cool?

~~~~~

No obviously gay men have called PRF since I've been working here (at least, nobody other than Big Gay Dick or Gay Ned when they call on their cell phones to work) until today.

This frightening man who called himself Melody or something called and scared me. He asked for Gay Ned, so I thought he might be a "friend" of his. But Ned had no idea who he was.

Melody had a frightful way of dragging out his words in a manner, I think, much like an eel might if an eel could speak.

I answered the phone and he said:

"Yeeeesssss. I'd like to speak to Neeeed pleeeeasssse. Thissss isss Meeeelodyyyy."

"Yikes!" I said. "Melody! You are scaring the living daylights out of me!"

"Yeeeessss. I tryyyyy" he replied.

"Eeek! One moment please!" I said.

"Thaaaank you my deeearrrr" Melody said.

Ned had no idea who he was.

"Um, Ned is out to lunch, Melody. Would you like to leave a voicemail message?" I asked.

"Yeeessss. That would be lovelyyyy, my deeearrrr" said the Eel.

And so ended my conversation with GayMelodyEel.

Let me just issue one big "Yikes!" in regard to THAT caller.

*