Lauren's Ring of Fire

you have just fallen in......................

older
� �� new
e-mail
��� profile
gbook
������ host ���design
Steve Is the Devil
e.ScIEntoLOgY
Gay or Nay?

&prev��� &next

Farewell - November 16, 2005

Laguna Beach - November 14, 2005

Karma is a Bitch, Beeootch!! - August 30, 2005

Tribute - August 08, 2005

Buying in Bulk - April 14, 2005

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

The Official Mood of Ringoffire is: The current mood of ringoffire at www.imood.com
November 14, 2005~~9:50 p.m.
Laguna Beach

Oh Lord how will I ever survive until next summer?

Without �Laguna Beach� that is. (Oh, what. You�re surprised I have an addiction to yet another MTV reality show? Have you ever READ this blog?)

Tonight was the season finale of my secret favorite show. Okay, so it�s not such a secret as I gush about it on a weekly basis, but it SHOULD be a secret since I seem to have far too many shameless addictions to teen pop culture and I am, after all, closer to 30 than I am anywhere near high school. And since we�re all being honest here, I�ll admit to welling up a bit with tears as Bitchy Kristin bid adieu to her friends Psycho Jessica and Cute but Clueless Stephen. I mean, I can identify with those goodbye moments. I�ve had far too many of them in my life. It just took me back to the day I left my own bedroom and moved away to college. I had been so excited leading up to the event and then when it actually was upon me, I was a sobbing wreck. Fast forward to one hour post-parental departure in the dorms when Jeni and I decided that subjecting Christa to watching us wallow in our sorrow was a good idea. Tracy Chapman, anyone? What I realized tonight watching that episode is that while I was in my own little head that first day of college, being sad and lonely, so, probably, was every other person in that dorm. We all left our friends and bedrooms behind that day and we all embarked together into a new world. I think I thought I was the only sad one there.

The draw to watching �Laguna�, for me, was that through these high schoolers, I was able to relive my own high school years and reflect on how similar and yet different (i.e. I didn�t drive a BMW or wear Gucci at age 16) my own experience was. I went to a small high school in a small town in California (okay so we didn�t have an ocean view but does the river count? How about the canal?) where people gossiped and friend-swapped and a good friend even stole my boyfriend once. For a year. (I�m really over it. I really am.) I went through that Senior �whatever� phase where I really did feel like I was �over� the crap that went on and even dumped a friend at one point (something next to unheard of among females).

It was interesting to watch the Laguna crew so that I could see how I have grown up in the past ten years but then also realize that although we all joke about �duh-rama� and all that �high school� stuff, we really aren�t that far removed from that life. I could not WAIT to see what would happen when Kristin went to visit Stephen in San Francisco. Would she hook up with him? Okay so she had her own hotel room, but would she actually sleep in it? Alone??!! What about last week when Kristin and Alex went to LC�s party but then snubbed HER?!?!? At her OWN party!! Talk about laa-ame.

I mean, I love this stuff. I love it love it love it. And I�m not afraid to say so. Why? Because it�s human nature. All of it. We all do exactly what the Laguna kids do, just on a different level and with awareness of credit card debt. Personally, I still want to know about my friends� sex lives and state of their marriages/relationships. I want to know who�s buying a house and where and what new job they got. You�re in a love triangle? Do tell!

It�s what makes life interesting. The Laguna kids are no different than I was or am. They just have access to more money and a better view.