Lauren's Ring of Fire

you have just fallen in......................

older
� �� new
e-mail
��� profile
gbook
������ host ���design
Steve Is the Devil
e.ScIEntoLOgY
Gay or Nay?

&prev��� &next

Farewell - November 16, 2005

Laguna Beach - November 14, 2005

Karma is a Bitch, Beeootch!! - August 30, 2005

Tribute - August 08, 2005

Buying in Bulk - April 14, 2005

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

The Official Mood of Ringoffire is: The current mood of ringoffire at www.imood.com
2001-12-05~~4:29 p.m.
Red Yellow and Blue: Tort or Torture?

So I was wondering: who in the world, (with any sense of self-respect or dignity, that is) would ever apply at Hot Dog on a Stick? Maybe I have just answered my own question. Maybe there are just enough people in the world with no self-respect or dignity to provide their assistance at HDOS at malls across America.

Just out of curiosity, I checked to see if HDOS had a website that could tell me just why it is that people choose to work there and subject themselves to wearing those striped shirts and hats and looking like morons. I thought to myself, "Self, perhaps they get paid $20 an hour for their embarrassment." Well, in case you were wondering yourself, HDOS DOES indeed have a website. It is at www.hotdogonastick.com. (of course it is). But the graphics had a hard time loading (probably revolting against their being red blue and yellow stripes or something) and so I am left with several unanswered questions yet.

I did, however, discover that there is a HDOS game you can play, the business was started in 1946 by a guy who used his mother's corn batter for his own capitalist ideals, and well, now even today, we can get freshly squeezed lemonade and corn dogs from the HDOS slaves in almost any mall we choose. Also, HDOS started in Santa Monica, near Muscle Beach...which may explain why the girls have to wear sleevless "tanks" if they can be called that. I tend to think they border on the more "jailbirdlike" style, but whatever.

I mean, I just think that if you are going to make the effort of going to the mall and getting applications, filling them out, turning them in, interviewing and then standing on your feet all day, wouldn't you just not even CONSIDER HDOS as a potential moneymaking venture? It stands to reason that you'd at least want to work, as I do, at a place where you can get a discount on things you can USE. How many corn dogs can one person eat to make the humiliation of the uniform worth it? Not to mention the physical requirements of making that lemonade. Have you ever SEEN those people thrusting their lives away squeezing lemons in that big tank? Please!

And if they have to PAY for those uniforms...

I wonder if their sad faces indicate poor working conditions due to the uniforms they are forced to wear. I wonder if they have a case for an undue mental injury claim. But since I am no longer a law student, I will not go there.

No I will not.