Lauren's Ring of Fire

you have just fallen in......................

older
� �� new
e-mail
��� profile
gbook
������ host ���design
Steve Is the Devil
e.ScIEntoLOgY
Gay or Nay?

&prev��� &next

Farewell - November 16, 2005

Laguna Beach - November 14, 2005

Karma is a Bitch, Beeootch!! - August 30, 2005

Tribute - August 08, 2005

Buying in Bulk - April 14, 2005

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

The Official Mood of Ringoffire is: The current mood of ringoffire at www.imood.com
2001-12-04~~6:29 p.m.
Real Wet II

I have more to say about this Real World experience. I don't think that when I was writing "Real Wet: The Original" yesterday at work, I could actually give the events of the day justice after thinking about them in a post-feminist frame of mind.

My friend Dianna went to the audition the same day I did and wrote about it in her diary which you can read at http://uberfrau.diaryland.com. I recommend it.

What it comes down to is this: the stupid idiotic questions they asked us which all related to high school or masterbation (or masterbation in high school) were just a way of pacifying us all while they looked at our faces and headshots and decided if we would look good against the decor of the Real World house in Las Vegas. And my friend Abby pointed out that they asked high school questions because they want people with a younger mindset than I have now at age Almost 24. But still, you figure that since it is a requirement to be on the show that you have to be out of high school and 18 or older, asking about embarrassing moments and virginity (which, granted, some do not lose in high school...but it is usually WAY more of an issue at that time than it is in college) is not asking questions of people who are college age or older.

And I think back to the old days with casts in L.A. and San Francisco when they had a med student (who HAD to be at least 24 or 25 or older), a comic strip writer in his mid-twenties, and other people who were out of college already. This just goes to show that they have (against their strong denials to the contrary) indeed created a "formula" for who they want on their show. Gay/lesbian preferably of color, blonde sorority girl or frat boy who can't get away from admirers, virgin, person of color who grew up in the ghetto (and if you're lucky, they'll be bi-racial!) and anyone else who creates a little drama with their racist views or strict religious upbringings is an unforseen plus.

Anyway, I think it is a blessing in disguise that I was not deemed beautiful enough to be on their stupid show. I think my best defense against Mary Ellis-Bunim and her Somebody Murray cohort would be to denounce them in Seventeen magazine (although covertly) or some other teen publication where obviously, they looked up their "interview" questions from a "Does He Love You?" quiz for 14 year olds.