Lauren's Ring of Fire

you have just fallen in......................

older
� �� new
e-mail
��� profile
gbook
������ host ���design
Steve Is the Devil
e.ScIEntoLOgY
Gay or Nay?

&prev��� &next

Farewell - November 16, 2005

Laguna Beach - November 14, 2005

Karma is a Bitch, Beeootch!! - August 30, 2005

Tribute - August 08, 2005

Buying in Bulk - April 14, 2005

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

The Official Mood of Ringoffire is: The current mood of ringoffire at www.imood.com
2001-11-24~~12:57 p.m.
Miscellaneous Wonderings

There is this kid on MTV right now, Aaron Carter, who is rapping about being "all grown up now" and he's only 14. I mean, I don't even think I'M all grown up and I'm almost a decade older than he. Whatever.

So my Thanksgiving was nice. My boyfriend went with me to my hometown, which was very nice of him. His other option was to drive at 2 a.m. to L.A. for a holiday that isn't even all that important to his Mexico-native family. So I guess I kind of roped him in by default, but whatever. I liked having him around.

Why is it that Thanksgiving is the biggest travel time of the year? Why doesn't Christmas/Hanukkah/Kwanzaa get that title? I mean, I like Thanksgiving and all, but when it comes down to it, it's just a meal, and people fly across the country just for an hour of fun! It just seems like if there were a holiday worth the stress of travelling, it would be Christmas, at least in my opinion. And then there's all that hype about it being the "biggest travel day of the year" which, right away, would convince me to stay put, if I had somewhere to go, that is. And now you may be saying "Well Lauren, you obviously just don't know, since you DON'T have anywhere else to go" and to that I say, quite the contrary. I have family in Alabama with whom I would enjoy spending Thanksgiving if the trip didn't cost a fortune for again, one meal, and only 2 days off work. It's gotta be a whirlwind trip for most people, so why not just do something at Christmas when you get a meal AND presents AND decorations AND family AND Santa AND those ringing bells on the doors AND Christmas music AND it's not the biggest travel day of the year?

The other thing I don't get is the people who go to the mall on the day after Thanksgiving either to get a jump on holiday shopping (to which I say, your anal-ness can wait a day) or just to go because it's the "biggest shopping day of the year" (to which I say, where did you ever find a place to park and keep your sanity). I just don't get it. It's not worth it just to "be there" because the lines are so long and just the mass of slow-moving people is enough to make me annoyed. I guess it all comes down to me being sort of intrigued that these days both still keep their titles as "biggest of the year" when so many people choose to not participate just because of that fact. Just goes to show the strength of the American spirit....ha!

P.S. The sink is much much better. He has chosen not to smell so much and has been bombarded with every possible anti-stink agent I could find. Thank you for asking.

P.P.S. The other day, I was VERY disturbed by this commercial paid for by the Travel Industry Association or something, where all these different groups (firefighters, airline pilots, cops, etc.) were quoting a speech by George W.! It was appalling that he has been given enough credit to actually provide the dialogue in a COMMERCIAL. Weird. Frightening. Sad.