Lauren's Ring of Fire

you have just fallen in......................

older
� �� new
e-mail
��� profile
gbook
������ host ���design
Steve Is the Devil
e.ScIEntoLOgY
Gay or Nay?

&prev��� &next

Farewell - November 16, 2005

Laguna Beach - November 14, 2005

Karma is a Bitch, Beeootch!! - August 30, 2005

Tribute - August 08, 2005

Buying in Bulk - April 14, 2005

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

The Official Mood of Ringoffire is: The current mood of ringoffire at www.imood.com
2001-11-20~~12:41 p.m.
Cleaning frenzy...

I was a ring of fire today. Or maybe, I was just "on fire." But whatever.

I had to work at J. Crew this morning at 7 a.m. I think, by the way, that I might start calling it "Gay Crew" in tribute to the gay men that shop there (although, of course, not ALL men that shop there are gay...but there are quite a few, which is more fun for me anyway because gay men tend to like your wardrobe suggestions, mostly) and the somewhat-gay/preppy/Ambercrombie-antithesis men's attire that we carry. But anyway, I had to be there super early today to bring out all the new gay men's clothing for the holiday season. Anyone who knows me knows I am NOT a morning person, thus, the fact that I was there early was a miracle. But the thing about me getting up early is that when I DO get up early, I get SOO much done. I am on a roll for a VERY long time. And as luck would have it, instead of having to work at Gay Crew until noon, I was let go early and was home by 10:30 a.m., often a time when I am either just waking up or not even close to waking up (on a day off, of course).

So I used the couple of free hours to do a little cleaning in preparation for Annie's visit. Little did I know what I would discover under the sink. See, Maria discovered last week that our sink is leaking and that it had caused a small broom to mold due to the moisture. We thought that was the only problem, however, and were content to call the landlord to have the sink fixed. But something kept smelling in our kitchen. Not smelling BAD...just smelling a little stale.

Fast forward to 11 a.m. this morning. Lauren takes out the trash and reaches for another trash bag only to find that the box the bags were in is completely saturated with moldy gross moisture. Not only that, but when I kept digging, I found our box of baking soda (put under the sink a month ago to help with the smell....hmm...I think it's a conspiracy) CAKED in some weird, crusty, salt-like film with stalagtites growing out of it. NO JOKE. It was sick. So I cleared out all the moldy stuff, sprayed some disinfectant under the sink and it is now being punished by having been completely eliminated of all its cleaning product buddies AND the trash can while it sits and airs out and thinks about what it has done.

After the sink incident, I was completely motivated, and proceeded to vacuum, tidy up my room that was only this morning what I have been calling the metaphor for my life: a disaster. But now, the metaphor is clean, neat and tidy...much like how I am feeling since I got up so early and even went to the post office today for carnivorous plant stamps!

Now if only Annelise would hurry up and get here...I can take her on all my errands. :) I bet she can't wait.