Lauren's Ring of Fire

you have just fallen in......................

older
� �� new
e-mail
��� profile
gbook
������ host ���design
Steve Is the Devil
e.ScIEntoLOgY
Gay or Nay?

&prev��� &next

Farewell - November 16, 2005

Laguna Beach - November 14, 2005

Karma is a Bitch, Beeootch!! - August 30, 2005

Tribute - August 08, 2005

Buying in Bulk - April 14, 2005

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

The Official Mood of Ringoffire is: The current mood of ringoffire at www.imood.com
April 25, 2003~~5:22 p.m.
The Doors

Why is it that everything breaks all at once?

I JUST got my heater thermostat fixed and it took my apartment manager two months to do it. The idea that I had absolutely NO maintenance to tend to in my apartment at the moment popped into my head and totally jinxed me, I�m sure. Because that night�.

I was on my way out the front door to go treading on the treadmill in our little mini apartment gym where I like to do my 3 mile walks because the t.v. is right there and nobody else is ever in the gym and well, the t.v�s at my real gym are always tuned to ESPN or TBS because the night shift guy likes to watch Star Trek reruns. Plus, they turn them down and have the music blaring so really, it�s kind of annoying because you can�t hear the t.v. (and can only read what they say if the subtitles are turned on and really, comedies just aren�t the same when they�re subtitled) and the music is so loud that my my senses get totally overloaded. So sometimes, I just like to take my evening walk in the peace and quiet with the girls on �Sorority Life� bitching in the background. Anyhoo, I went out my front door like always, but because the light on the front porch had gone out about a week before, I couldn�t see well to get my key in the lock to lock it! (Aside: Although it is humorous that the light would be out on this very night, this is actually one problem I am not motivated to report to the manager because when the light is working, it shines right into my bedroom window and thus, I have to sleep with the door closed all the time. This way, I can leave my door open and my room stays warm all night.) So I�m bumbling around thinking about what an idiot I am that I can�t fit the key in the lock when I realize, it�s not me. It�s the lock. It refuses to be made love to by my key. I�m not sure when the breakup occurred, but it must have been quick and nasty, because the night before this, it worked fine.

I tried my key in the back door lock and everything was A.O.K. So I decided that lest I lock myself out of the house with no hope of being saved at 10:00 p.m., I would use my garage door opener to go in and out through the garage. This worked well for my departure.

Upon returning from the gym, I opened the garage door and was standing inside the garage waiting for the door to finish opening so I could close it again. Just then, a SLAM! And a FLASH! Suddenly, it was pitch black. I was stunned, unmoving in my pose of holding the door transmitter up and ready to be activated to close the door.

The only sound was the light pelting of rain outside on the pavement. I tried to close the door. Nothing. Just the low hum of a motor with the best of intentions. But the door wouldn�t budge. I knew I would have to leave my garage door open all night. This did not please me as it was raining and not nice weather outside. Plus, I was mildly concerned that someone might take the legs to the Barney Rubble table I had stored in the corner. I decided it was best not to try to manually close the door because I�m pregnant and could strain something and also, I wasn�t sure that the door would go back up in the morning when I�d need to leave for work. I didn�t want to risk it.

I had a hard time sleeping that night, remembering that the door was wide open and although the door to my apartment was locked, I was still uneasy.

The next morning, all was well in the garage. Barney Rubble had made it through the night and my car was still there and in tact. I called the apartment manager and they actually FIXED both doors in that very day.

It was nothing short of a miracle.

Now I am waiting for the next thing to break. Maybe it will be my bad luck streak.

~~~~~

FYI---Due to popular demand, I have added a notify list to my site so if you�d like to add your name to it I�ll send out a note each time I update my diary!