Lauren's Ring of Fire

you have just fallen in......................

older
� �� new
e-mail
��� profile
gbook
������ host ���design
Steve Is the Devil
e.ScIEntoLOgY
Gay or Nay?

&prev��� &next

Farewell - November 16, 2005

Laguna Beach - November 14, 2005

Karma is a Bitch, Beeootch!! - August 30, 2005

Tribute - August 08, 2005

Buying in Bulk - April 14, 2005

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

The Official Mood of Ringoffire is: The current mood of ringoffire at www.imood.com
2002-02-07~~9:50 a.m.
A Pseudo Invitation to Rendezvous

So yesterday was our scheduled first meeting with Steve, the new landlord from Whisler. It did not go well.

Recall for a minute, the fact that we planned to take Steve up on his form letter extension of greetings, wherein he stated, "I would like to set up a time to meet you, even at your apartment!"

So Maria and I thought that this would be the perfect time to innundate him with all the problems we face living at our apartment (i.e. garbage disposal and lukewarm shower). Maria called to set up an appointment, but since our schedules are both crazy this week, we decided it would have to be during the lunch hour.

As it turns out, Steve from Whisler is NOT at all pleased to meet us, ESPECIALLY if that meeting is to take place during the hour of 12:30-1:30 p.m. when Whisler closes for lunch. He was very adamant about meeting earlier than that. So Maria and I made arrangements to come home early for lunch.

I arrived at 12:05 and Steve was already on his way out the door. Apparently, Steve is a stickler to his lunch. Can't keep that bologna sandwich a'waitin' now can you?

According to Maria, Steve let her know that not only did we not HAVE to meet with him in person per his letter, but he actually PREFERS that we call in complaints or problems. Hmm. So what you're SAYING, Steve, is that you don't enjoy person-to-person contact with your clients and your form letter is a big huge farce that led us to believe you might be better than Jan but we soon uncovered the truth? Oh. Okay. Just so we're on the same page with this.

Maria said that Steve was very rushed and did not seem to enjoy his time in our humble abode. (Probably best that I wasn't there yet and didn't suggest he take a shower, then.) They both looked for the faulty hot water heater, and Steve refused to believe that the one in the complex laundry room is the only one on the property.

Um, hello? Didn't we say that there is never any hot water? Wouldn't you then assume that the reason is because all SEVEN apartments and roommates are all feeding off of one water heater? The hot water heater in question, in fact?

Miffed that I was snubbed while walking up the sidewalk to our apartment, a mere 5 minutes late, (we made eye contact and he still didn't even make a move to introduce himself....bah!) I decided to take him up on his offer to "call in complaints" and let him know that in addition to the hot water issue, there is now a loud and ear-piercing shriek coming from the back gate every time it opens or closes. The gate just happens to be right outside my bedroom window and I was startled awake at least 5 times this morning because of it.

As an aside, it is a miracle I can sleep at all in that place, what with Emphysema Wake Up Call coughing and gagging every morning, the neighbors cussing at each other across the fence, the upstairs neighbors having sex at all hours of the night, the laundry room just on the other side of my bedroom wall (spin cycle at 9 a.m. on Saturdays is NOT all that welcome), and now, the gate. Crikey!

So I called Whisler. I was unable to talk to Steve, but I was patched through to his boss, Robert, which was even better, but not because Robert was at all helpful to willing to be, but just because it was Steve's boss and I could make him look bad in the most direct way. The conversation went something like this:

Me: "Hello, I am calling in regard to the hot water heater problem in our apartment that Steve came over to discuss yesterday!"

Robert: "Oh? What's that?"

"We have no hot water, and Steve wasn't sure that the water heater in the laundry room was actually ours, but I think it is. It's big, but obviously not big enough" I said.

"I'm sure that IS your hot water heater" said Robert.

"I'm sure it is too, and I just wanted to let him know. I was unfortunately unable to meet him and introduce myself, because I was about 5 minutes late to our meeting yesterday and he was already on his way out. It was really tragic."

"Oh--did he have you sign a contract when he was there? Is that why he came over?"

"Contract? No. We just wanted to meet him like his letter suggested, and also, you know, there's this lukewarm shower issue we'd like you all to resolve."

"Oh, well, yeah, I'll let him know. The problem is probably that there is a hot water drip in someone else's apartment and it's draining all the hot water."

"Of course. And so you'll be fixing that ASAP, right? Because Steve said you all were 'very receptive' to complaints and problems when and if we call them in."

"Um, maybe. But only if we feel like getting up off our fat asses and doing our jobs."

"Oh, okay, and also, there's a problem with the back gate of our 'gated community'. It squeaks and makes crazy noises...I'm sure Steve noticed when he made his quick departure out said gate yesterday. It needs a little WD40 or some grease or something, and fast!"

"I'll let him know."

"Okay. Good talking to you, Robert. Rest assured that if these problems aren't fixed, I'll be phoning you every day until they are. Thanks a mil!"

*click*

Whisler: -3184 Jan: -3187 Lauren and Maria: 3186

I hate hate HATE landlords. I didn't even get to use my ex-law student status against Steve in quoting from landlord-tenant law. That, quite possibly, was the biggest disappointment of the entire day.

Bah.

BAH!