Lauren's Ring of Fire

you have just fallen in......................

older
� �� new
e-mail
��� profile
gbook
������ host ���design
Steve Is the Devil
e.ScIEntoLOgY
Gay or Nay?

&prev��� &next

Farewell - November 16, 2005

Laguna Beach - November 14, 2005

Karma is a Bitch, Beeootch!! - August 30, 2005

Tribute - August 08, 2005

Buying in Bulk - April 14, 2005

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com

The Official Mood of Ringoffire is: The current mood of ringoffire at www.imood.com
2002-01-30~~2:22 p.m.
Penske in the Ass

So at PRF, my latest assignment, (a sure-fire "Thrill-A-Minute" you know), is to cold call as many trucking/construction/auto parts/service garage agencies as possible to get names and addresses to which to send invitations to an upcoming re-refined oil seminar. Yes, I know. It is hard to imagine why people would NOT want to go to such a seminar, but many a mechanic has already declined that I even send an invitation.

The first hurdle seems to be that everyone thinks I'm selling something. Um, hello? I said FREE seminar. They even get a free lunch if they go, and the whole thing lasts only a few hours. Dude. Just get your boss to pay for your mileage to go to the damn thing, get a free meal, and chalk it up to a day off work, grease-fingernail free!

The second problem exists with the mental capacity of those with whom I am talking. Now, not to generalize or stereotype, but not that many men who work in truck repair enjoy or are capable of talking to educated women. Especially women who are uneducated about truck repair. I think it's threatening or something. However, that does not excuse their rudeness toward me when explaining why I am calling them long-distance to attempt to help their progress along in the world of environmental conscientiousness. Plus, I have to be careful not to use any big words during the conversation. The minute their minds "stumble" on a 25 cent word, it is all downhill from there and I can kiss any address for "Herb's Truck and Tractor Trailer Repair" goodbye.

And if it's not Herb himself, it's his secretary, Darlene, who has suddenly deemed herself as someone with clout who can tell you where to go. Um, I'm sorry, Darlene? Has it ever occurred to you that maybe Herb would really like to get out from under that Ryder truck for a few hours to learn about re-refined oil and to attempt to make the world a better place? Of course, if he were concerned about bettering the world, he'd either give Darlene a raise so she wouldn't be bitter, or he'd just up and fire the dumb bitch. But that's another topic for another day.

Then, I called this Penske truck center and talked to a guy there. I had just learned that U-Haul has a main office where all the U-Hauls are maintained and repaired, so each U-Haul center doesn't have to do all of the maintenance. I politely asked the Penske guy (we'll call him BitterMan) if they had the same system. He replied snottily, "Heh, heh, uhhh...no. We do all our own repairs and also the repairs on the U-Hauls people bring in that break down all the time."

Okaaay. I had no idea I was putting myself in the middle of a "move-it-yourself" truck war. It's like Kandahar Hospital out there people. Watch out.

Big Gay Dick wants about 300 addresses for this mailing by Friday. I have about 20 thanks to the Darlenes and BitterMen of the world.